Words of Wisdom
Leave a Comment

“Skiing is freedom – and so is my education.”

Meet Logan LaPlante – a 13-year-old kid from California whose concept of hack-schooling his education is currently baffling the Youtube World – including me. Logan has been pulled out of traditional education and is since then hacking the education system, to make it better and suitable for his needs. And that got him to ask himself: Why is the science of being happy not considered education?

In his 11-minutes talk he touches several topics that I spend a lot of time thinking about: The science of happiness, how skiing and writing makes him a happier person and how we can change the education system. And he reminded me that everything is up for being hacked – our education, our jobs, our relationships, even our whole lives. That got me thinking: Should I hack something too? Or am I already hacking my life by stepping out of traditional paths? Logan defines a hacker as an innovator, who challenges and changes the systems to make them better. And having the hacker mindset can change the world. Maybe I am not a hacker yet but why not become one?

Leave a Reply

