Mountains, Places in NZ
Leave a Comment

First impressions of my new workplace

When I popped my toes out of my electric-blanket-heated bed into the cold of a Kiwi-style unheated house this morning getting up to go skiing didn’t seem very tempting. I am glad I did though because it was the most awesome day out there. And the probably perfect day to explore my new playground. It had snowed the whole last week and our lovely colleagues from operations (incl. one of my housemates) worked hard and long hours to dig out the lifts under that fluffy white blanket. They didn’t quite get all of them ready for opening yesterday so there was one basin left that had not seen any crowds yesterday. And guess who was just standing at the barrier when ski patrol decided to open it? Yeah, right. A basin full of fresh powder just when I arrived up there. What a lucky coincidence! Don’t have to tell you that I rode in that basin almost all day – even when everything was already tracked it remained nice snow and awesome riding.

Enjoying it that much actually came as a surprise because I was struggling a bit to get back into winter mode in the middle of June. As always it only took a couple of turns and I was addicted again. A lot of things are different on Kiwi ski fields and I will certainly tell you more about that – but now it’s bedtime: A day full of training ahead tomorrow and I need to get up early. But still got a couple of pictures for you:

The daily commute up the mountain with the usual sunrise spectacle.

The daily commute up the mountain with the usual sunrise spectacle.

All shredded but still good fun.

All shredded but still good fun.

A last view down Queenstown side before my last run.

A last view down Queenstown side before heading back home to Wanaka.

Leave a Reply

