Family
Leave a Comment

Happy Birthday, big brother!

One great thing here in New Zealand is that we’re always a bit ahead of time. Being already 29 May down here in Auckland I’m very lucky to be the hopefully first one to congratulate my big brother to his 34th Birthday. (Think I managed just in time before European midnight when probably his adorable girlfriend thinks she’s the lucky first congratulate.)

Let me tell you one of two things about my big brother Tom: He indeed is a very big brother – as in terms of very tall (almost two meters!) but also being the greatest big brother one can imagine. I was lucky to grow up with him by my side, him being four and a half years older and always the protective big brother I needed. Whenever I look at pictures from our childhood I often find him hugging me, holding my hand or in any other way making sure I was fine (and looking into the camera).

dia_0200
dia_0276

I always looked up to him – not only because of his height but also admiring him for the many things he’s good at: Any kinds of sports such as sailing or tennis, being great with people, a skilled talker and presenter, professional and getting along with pretty much anybody.

dia_0321dia_0232

But these are all things that pretty much everybody likes him for. One great thing I get to experience as his little sister is what a great heart he has and how supportive he is to us, his family and his girlfriend. My brother has been through lots in the last couple of years – things that others would get desperate of (and I know he was at times) and challenges that were not easy to handle. But at the same time I saw him growing so much and becoming that awesome person he is today. I am so proud how he’s transformed his life lately and how he still does on an every day basis. I admire how he’s always looking for the best in people and how he makes them feel good around him. He certainly does that for me and I love having him and his girlfriend around. Even if I give him a hard time every now and then, asking weird questions and challenging him in the way he thinks or talks about things (you know what I mean?). But if I do so it only is because I love you a lot and I know there’s even more greatness hiding deep within you. Let it out! But even if you don’t – I can see it every time I see you, talk to you, think of you. And I think of you a lot, not only on your birthday. Wishing you a splendid day, I know there will be some birthday celebrations going on back home in Austria and it’s one of those moments where I wish I could be with you guys today and celebrate in style. Anyway, all the best for you, big brother!

Love,
die Kloane

neu 023

For everyone not knowing my family: This is my brother (middle), his girlfriend (left), our Mum (center) and me.

IMG_7136

And this is our Dad (middle), my brother and me during one of last year’s sunset at Attersee, back home in Austria.

Leave a Reply

