Kiwi culture, Places in NZ, Stuff you'll need
Leave a Comment

Winter has arrived in New Zealand

As you might have seen from my beach pictures New Zealand had greeted me in a friendly way last week – with temperatures around 20 degrees and perfect t-shirt and jandal weather. Just when I started liking the idea of a mild winter Kiwi winter showed its real face and hit Auckland last night with a terrible storm and freezing cold temperatures. According to radio the peak temperature measured in Auckland today was 6.8 degrees Celsius. (Not that this would be really tough for me but did I mention there’s neither heating system nor insulation…?)

Google News is full of weather coverage today and there seem to have been roads closed on both islands, snow falls down to sea level and power cuts in and around Auckland.

Screen shot 2013-05-28 at 6.48.41 PM
Luckily, I wasn’t really affected by that over here – only concern were cold feet. In desperate need of really warm socks I headed to the close-by mall – wearing

  • 1 long-sleeved merino shirt
  • 1 Odlo thermal skiing jumper
  • 1 fleece jumper
  • 1 down jacket
  • 1 rain jacket
  • my skiing pants (no joke)
  • Gore-Text trainers
  • and a beanie

All those Kiwis must have laughed their asses off because I still came across a couple of girls wearing – hold on – beach dresses and jandals. Seriously? I feel so damn stupid…. how is this going to be when I get into real winter on the South Island?

Another shocking thing I saw today were the sleeping jumpers they are selling at the Warehouse:

IMG_20130528_133126

No Photoshop, no joke article, they are seriously selling these as pyjamas. Hilarious, isn’t it?

I’m back at the house now, having a cosy fire in the chimney, Ruby is doing a great job keeping my feet warm and I can already smell the apple strudel that’s in the oven right now. And, the good thing about winter hitting New Zealand are the masses of snow dumping in ski resorts. Cardrona, the resort I will be working at, keeps posting pictures of powder and that absolutely helps getting into winter mode. Hope the weather is better for you guys – enjoy the warmth while I will snuggle up on the couch and enjoy my apple strudel.

Leave a Reply

